Let’s look at the breakdown of BIM Level 2:

Why was BIM Level 2  Developed?

In May 2011,  a construction strategy was published by the UK Government aimed towards reducing the cost of public sector assets by 20%, by the year 2016.
To achieve this, the government has mandated all stakeholders to work on a collaborative basis and share their respective information on a common environment.
To achieve BIM Level 2, it is required to have a fully collaborative 3D BIM model along with all the project and assets information documented in a digital format.

What is BIM Level 2?

As per the NBS, BIM Level 2 is, “Level 2 BIM is distinguished by collaborative working, and requires “an information exchange process which is specific to that project and coordinated between various systems and project participants”
In short, BIM LEVEL 2 means “what, when and how information
should be created, shared and managed.”

What are the Requirements?

  • Development of information models which reference, federate or exchange information with other models.
  • EIR with clear definition and decision points.
  • BEP including assigned roles, standards, methods, & procedures and a MIDP matrix aligned with the project program.
  • Provision of a Common Data Environment